Monday, September 1, 2014

2014-15 BCHL Team Reports - Alberni Valley Bulldogs:

With the 2014-15 BC Hockey League regular season set to kick off with the annual Bauer BCHL Showcase at Prospera Centre in Chilliwack in less than three weeks, I thought I'd come up with reports for each of the league's sixteen teams. I'll go in alphabetical order and may or may not post a team each day, but I will get each team done before September 19th.

So, first up is the Alberni Valley Bulldogs.

F Evan Tironese (Recruited from Green Bay Gamblers), G Billy Christopoulos (Recruited from Des Moines Buccaneers), F Jesse Knowler (Acquired from Trail Smoke Eaters), F Tyler Povelofskie (Acquired from Vernon Vipers)

F Craig Martin (Traded to Trail Smoke Eaters), G Connor LaCouvee (Boston University), F Harlan Orr (Traded to Whitecourt - AJHL)

2013-14 NUMBERS

21-28-2-7 (51 points)

15-12-0-2 (32 points)

6-16-2-5 (19 points)




2.91 GPG (14th)

3.55 GPG (12th)

17.95% (12th)

79.37% (11th)









Kevin Willison

Kevin Willison

Weyerhaeuser Arena

1,086 (6th)

16-22 (since '10)


Sunday, August 31, 2014

Langley Snags Netminder Bo Didur from Rival Surrey:

The Langley Rivermen made their second off-season deal with the rival Surrey Eagles on Friday, acquiring 17-year-old goaltender Bo Didur in exchange for future considerations.

A month ago, the Rivermen picked up 17-year-old Domenic Masellis from the Eagles in the first trade between the longtime division foes.

Didur's acquisition comes as the Rivermen lost 20-year-old veteran Tyrell King to retirement. King was picked up in a three-way trade from the SJHL's Kindersley Klippers back in June, but announced on his Twitter account that he was leaving the game.

The number one job in Langley now looks to be between Didur and 18-year-old Darren Martin, who the Rivermen also acquired via trade in June from the SJHL's Battlefords North Stars.

Didur had outstanding numbers in major midget in 2012-13 and respectable numbers on an Eagles team which finished second to last in the Mainland Division and allowed 31 goals more than it scored.

The trade leaves Surrey without any goaltenders on its roster as 20-year-old Devon Fordyce was dealt to Okotoks of the AJHL earlier this summer.

To Langley Rivermen:
G Bo Didur (97) To Surrey Eagles:
Future Considerations

Here's the release from Langley:

The Langley Rivermen have acquired goaltender Bo Didur from the Surrey Eagles for future considerations.

The seventeen year old Didur played in twenty-four regular season games and six playoff games for the Eagles last season.

Prior to his rookie year with the Eagles, Didur played for the Northwest Giants in the BC Major Midget Hockey League, where he went undefeated in the regular season, winning twenty-three games in 2013.

“Bo has proven himself to be one of the top goalies in the country for his age,” said head coach Bobby Henderson. “We are fortunate to add a player of Bo’s ability to our organization. He comes in familiar with our group, as he has played with several of our guys in the past,” he said. “Bo has a reputation of being an outstanding character and possesses a work ethic that will allow him to continue to develop and climb the ranks.”

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Three BCHL Teams Ranked in Canadian Junior Hockey League Top 20 Pre-Season Rankings:

I know the validity of these rankings are of great debate among teams, fans, and broadcasters of Canadian Junior Hockey League teams, but regardless, the league is out with its first Top 20 Rankings of the 2014-15 season.

There are three BCHL teams featured in the Top 20 (Penticton Vees - 2nd, Langley Rivermen - 9th, Merritt Centennials - 14th) while one other (Powell River Kings) received an honourable mention.

Here's the release from the CJHL:

The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) announced its Pre-Season Top 20 rankings for the 2014 - 2015 season. The leagues in which the teams belong to are in parenthesis.

The CJHL Pre-Season 2014-2015 Top 20 Rankings

1.    Fort McMurray Oil Barons (AJHL)

2.    Penticton Vees (BCHL)

3.    Georgetown Raiders (OJHL)

4.    Portage Terriers (MJHL)

5.    Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)

6.    Drumheller Dragons (AJHL)

7.    Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)

8.    Yorkton Terriers (SJHL)

9.    Langley Rivermen (BCHL)

10.  Fort Frances Lakers (SIJHL)

11.  Woodstock Slammers (MHL)

12.  Trenton Golden Hawks (OJHL)

13.  Pembroke Lumber Kings (CCHL)

14.   Merritt Centennials (BCHL)

15.   Aurora Tigers (OJHL)

16.  Truro Bearcats (MHL)

17.  Kirkland Lake Gold Miners (NOJHL)

18.  Kingston Voyageurs (OJHL)

19.  Selkirk Steelers (MJHL)

20.  Les Pantheres de Saint Jerome (LHJQ)

Other teams to watch and honourable mention goes to the Powell River Kings (BCHL), Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL), Battlefords North Stars (SJHL), Oakville Blades (OJHL), Kemptville 73’s (CCHL),

The pre-season rankings are based upon a variety of factors which includes the league in which the teams belong to, last season’s results in regular season and playoffs as well as initial recruiting efforts for the upcoming season. The first in-season Top 20 CJHL Weekly Rankings will be announced on September 30, 2014

Friday, August 29, 2014

Surrey Eagles Bring Defenseman Latrell Charleson Back to the BCHL:

The Surrey Eagles continued to load up on local players as on Thursday they acquired 19-year-old defenseman Latrell Charleson from the Hawkesbury Hawks of the Central Canada Hockey League for 19-year-old blueliner Philippe Johansson.

If Charleson's name is familiar, it's because the 6-foot-4, 220 lb. has played in the BCHL before. He got into 23 games as a 17-year-old rookie with Prince George in 2011-12 and played 20 games with the Spruce Kings in 2012-13 before being released in December 2012. The Surrey product then joined the junior B North Delta Devils and also affiliated with the Coquitlam Express, playing eight games with them.

How Charleson's Canadian Junior Hockey League's rights got to Hawkesbury is a bit of a mystery. He was recruited by the Battlefords North Stars of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League in June 2013 and played with them last season. Then this past July, Charleson was traded to the Alberta Junior Hockey League's Lloydminster Bobcats. What I can't find any record of is how Charleson's rights ended up with Hawkesbury, which enabled them to trade him to Surrey. We may never know.

Meanwhile, Johansson, who is committed to Brown University for 2015-16, really came into his own during the BCHL playoffs, putting up two goals and three assists in six games for the Eagles.

To Surrey Eagles:
D Latrell Charleson (95) To Hawkesbury Hawks:
D Philippe Johansson (94)